The lazy girls guide to workouts: seated exercise

As I get further and further along in the third trimester, I’ve noticed certain things that used to come easy to me just plain exhaust me now.  For example, standing.  You wouldn’t think a simple act like standing would ever cause you to tire, but it definitely does!  And these limitations have obviously effected my workout routine, but me being me, I always find ways around my limitations.

Enter Chair Exercises.

Chair exercises used to bring images of folks in retirement homes lifting an arm, then a leg, then the arm again – something slow paced and nothing I would benefit from.  But I was wrong – there are plenty of things you can do on a chair that get my heart rate up!

I start out with a short warm-up by performing these movements while seated:

  • Calf Lifts
  • Heel digs
  • March in place
  • Chair Single Leg Jumping Jacks
  • Chair Jumping Jacks

Warm Up

(And as you can see, this provides a great amount of entertainment for a dog.)

Then I move on to the weights.  I do a ton of upper body work while seated. And since upper body has always been my weakest point, I’m enjoying focusing on the muscle groups to improve my strength.  I generally do the follwing exercises, though it’s easy to mix it up and add in new upper body exercises while seated.

  • Bicep Curls
  • Tricep Overhead Press
  • Lateral Shoulder Raises
  • Seated Chest Press
  • Seated Sword Pulls
  • Seated Rows

seated upper body workout

For beginners, use a light weight and start with 1 set of 8-12 reps and add additional sets as you progress in your strength.

I typically do 2 sets of 15 reps at a medium weight, or 1 set of 8-10 at a heavier weight and 1 set of 15 reps at a medium weight.

Being pregnant, I take plenty of breaks.  If I can’t breathe, baby can’t breathe – so I never allow myself to get out of breath.  But for those of you who can handle being out of breath, move from one exercise to the next with minimal rest to keep your heart rate up.

Then you can cool down by doing the same exercises as the warm up, just in reverse order.  Follow with some good stretches and you’re done!

I also do ab and leg work on the floor, but that’s another post for another day!  For right now, those of you who may be feeling a bit sluggish or just not up for a big workout, try seated workouts.  You’ll be surprised at how good you feel afterwards!

 

Leave a Reply

