Battling Fatigue

Lately I’ve just been plain tired.  I wake up and within an hour my body is craving a nap.  At times I’m lucky enough to listen to it and go back to sleep, but other times I have responsibilities that I can not ignore (work!).  And it frustrates me, because I want to do more.  I have a list in my head of things I want and need to do, but it seems like none of it ever gets done because I’m just to tired.

goodnight-8307_zps5b33c2ca

 

While there are many reasons why I’m fatigued, I still have to make it through the day. Luckily, there are ways to help ease the tired feeling and get a little pep back in your step:

1) Eat healthfully.  If you are like me, whenever you are tired you reach for the sugar and caffeine.  That’s natural – your body wants a quick boost of energy and these things provide that.  However, these things also wreak havoc with your blood sugar levels, causing them to spike way high and then crash way down.  This makes you feel even more tired.  So the best way to fight fatigue is to skip the sugar rush and eat healthfully.  Your energy level will increase with stable blood sugar levels.

2) Hydration.  Water gives you energy.  If you are dehydrated, you may drag through your day.  So be sure to get plenty of water in to keep you going.

3) Exercise.  This may seem counterintuitive when you are tired, but exercising at a moderate level does give you more energy.  So don’t hit the snooze button in the morning!  Get up and get moving – you will definitely have more energy throughout the day!

4) Getting enough sleep.  We are a nation of under-sleepers.  It is almost a bragging right when you stay up late and get up early.  But really, we need sleep!  Every body functions best on different amounts of sleep, but the average is 7 hours for adults.  Make sure your bedroom is dark and quiet and remove any distractions like tablets and laptops.

Do these 4 things, and your fatigue will ease.

2 responses to “Battling Fatigue

  1. The last week or so I’ve been waking up at night to use the bathroom so I’m not getting the deep sleep I’m used to. And this weekend, I was so tired. When I got home on Friday, my bed looked so inviting. I feel more rejuvenated today though, thank God.
    Hope you’re better today too.
    http://runwright.net

    Like

Leave a Reply

