A new grain in town: Freekah!

Move over quinoa, there’s a new grain in town.  And it’s not any easier to pronounce!

Freekeh (pronounced free-kah) is an ancient whole grain that is full of fiber and protein.  Like quinoa, it has a nutty flavor that makes it unique to the typical rice, though it’s shape and texture is quiet similar to rice.  And I was excited to try this new trend of healthy eats with a giveaway from Freekeh Foods.  I received a bag of original Freekeh, and Rosemary Sage flavored Freekah.

And as a lover of a simple side, I choose to try to the Rosemary Sage Freekeh.  All I had to do was bring it to boil and let it simmer – not much is simpler than that.

freekeh ingredients

You can use any liquid, including water, but I choose low sodium chicken broth as I find it always gives a little extra flavor to any grain.

So after 25 minutes of simmering away, I had a beautiful pot of Freekeh.  And it smelled like Thanksgiving!

freekeh

Since the weather is definitely turning Fall like in NC, the scent was so comforting!

And the taste reminded me of Thanksgiving as well.  I felt like I was having a side of stuffing with a roasted turkey (though I didn’t have any turkey).  The texture was just right – not too mushy, but not too dry, and it had a nice bite to it.  I really think I could replace stuffing with this Rosemary Sage freekeh and be super happy!  Plus, I added absolutely nothing to it – no salt, no extra spices, nothing.  Which made the enjoyment so much more satisfying – an easy, healthy and satisfying dish that could serve as a hearty lunch or a nice side dish for any fall meal.

Now I need to get my creative juices flowing and play with original Freekah for another healthy, easy and yummy meal!

Leave a Reply

