Staying Cool in the Kitchen

Happy Friday everyone!

I used to be a big fan of Fridays, until I started having to work Saturday mornings.  Even though Friday is not the start of the weekend for me, there’s still something happy about the day!  And what better day than Friday to try something new!

I’ve been playing around with ideas for the blog and what direction I want it to go in, so bear with me as things may change a bit.  But hopefully the content will be interesting, educational and fun!

I used to work out with a personal trainer and Fridays to her were always “Fun” Fridays.  Fun is in quotation marks for a reason – as it was not fun.  She wanted us to remember her all weekend so she made the workouts extra tough.  So Saturday and Sunday, every time you stood up or lifted your arm, you would feel the muscles burn!  But since I love a good challenge, there was part of me that did enjoy “fun” Fridays.

That’s not the direction I’m going in today though.  Today I thought we should make it Foodie Friday!  Here are some fun, healthy meals I had this week:

Breakfast Yum!

Oatmeal is not a summer food – or is it?  Have you ever heard of overnight oats?  The first time I tried them, they were a total failure.  I forgot a key ingredient (chia seeds) and basically made mushy, grainy oats in milk.  But I gave the recipe another try (as I always say – you need to try it twice!) and followed the recipe to a T.  And I LOVED them!

This is a simple breakfast you make ahead the night before.  The basic recipe is:

  • 1/2 cup oatmeal
  • 5-6 ounces of yogurt (whatever flavor/type you enjoy)
  • 1 tablespoon of chia seeds (these are a must!)
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup of liquid (I usually use almond milk but milk or even juice would work well).

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl, cover and put in the fridge overnight.

In the morning, you can add any extras, like fruit, nuts, granola and if you’d like, you can add some more liquid.

photo 1

This doesn’t look delicious – but it is!  Yes, it’s cold oatmeal – but trust me, you will like it!  Play around with yogurt flavors and mix-ins for a variety.  It’s a healthy, filling, cool and tasty breakfast perfect for any summer day!

Lunch Special

I am a big fan of simple lunches that I can throw together in a few minutes and still be healthy, happy and satisfied.  This one fits the bill for me and I ate it several times for lunch this week.

broccoli salad with chicken sausage

It’s broccoli slaw mix topped with a sliced cooked chicken sausage (I buy precooked chicken sausages and heat them up in the microwave) topped with Greek yogurt salad dressing.

No cooking required (other than a 30 sec microwave hit), it’s cool, refreshing and delightful.

Dinner Time

I had been eyeing this recipe for a while, and finally decided to take the plunge.  Since I had an early morning Wednesday I knew I would be too tired to want to cook that evening, so the slow cooker was the way to go.  Plus, slow cookers are great for hot summer days as they do not heat up your kitchen and you still have a delicious hearty, filling dinner.

Slow Cooker Mediterranean Lasagna by Fitnessista

lasagna

I made a few changes to the base of the recipe.  I took out the onion and spinach due to family allergies, added half of an eggplant for a little more veggies, and used half chicken sausage and half pork sausage instead of turkey sausage.  It’s actually really difficult to find turkey sausage in my local grocery stores!  And I only used 1 jar of marinara (though I had another on hand just in case).  I did use no boil require lasagna noodles and they came out perfectly!

This meal was tasty.  It was an interesting take on lasagna – not quite traditional but not quite untraditional either.  Plus even though we have leftovers, it didn’t make a ton.  I have enough for a lunch for one and another dinner for 2.  Usually with lasagna I could feed a family of 4 for a several days, and that doesn’t work in a family of 2!

What are some of your favorite recipes for summertime meals?

5 responses to “Staying Cool in the Kitchen

  1. I’ve never had overnight oats and I wonder if I’ll like it. I don’t like when the oats gets really mushy. But so many people raving about it can’t be wrong, right? I do love a great broccoli slaw salad though.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

