Dream Big

To know me is to know I’m a goal setter.  I’m happiest when I’m working to accomplish something.  Lately, my goals have become a bit stagnant.  I’ve been trying to make and pursue new goals, but they haven’t inspired me.  That’s the thing with goals – they have to be something you really want for yourself in order for you to be willing to put in the work.

My true goal lately has been a bit abstract.  To be happy.  Now don’t get me wrong, I am happy.  I have a great life!  But sometimes I find I’m waiting for the big moments to come, and not enjoying all the little day to day moments.  And when the little moments (work, exercise, etc.) become routine, it can be difficult to find the joy in those moments.

So it makes me think about what makes me happy.  And most of my answers are again, abstract:

– Being comfortable in my own skin in the situation I’m in.

– Feeling of belonging

– Having a goal to work towards

– Being mentally and physically challenged in some way

– Feeling in control of my life/time

But to get to the core, I found this simple exercise helped me.  It was a simple fill in the blank exercise.  The italics are the “blanks” if you want to try this exercise yourself.


I believe that the key to a happy life is self acceptance [noun]. Self acceptance [same noun] inspires me to be the aspiring [adj] person that I am today. I am lucky to have my husband [person] and my mother [person] in my life because they inspire me to live life to my fullest and to chase my dreams.

My dream is to one day live happily ever after, honoring my body, mind and spirit [verb] and even if it takes years [noun], I know I’ll get there because I’m not afraid to dream big!

While I dream big, I hope to inspire others by finding their own happiness. 


Two things I found from this exercise:

1) My yoga job has really started rubbing off on me!!

2) What I’m looking for is a feeling of no regrets, no pressure, no judgment.  And of course, being human and a female, I’m my own worst critic.  If a day doesn’t go exactly as I picture, the last thing I say to myself before falling asleep is “tomorrow I’ll do better”.  Really?  Really??

Why must I chastise myself before I go to bed – just because I skipped a workout, didn’t get everything done at work, ate a bit too much sugar or rested instead of cleaning the house??

louisehay

So to honor myself, if I need to rest, take a break, or indulge my sweet tooth.  I don’t have to be perfect.  Which is good because I’m far from it!  But to honor my feelings, whether they are good or bad, what I want or what I don’t want to feel, is the way to happiness.

Once I can master this, then all the little and big goals, dreams and wishes will fall into place.  Goals will become clearer, steps will become easier, and dreams can come true.

3 responses to “Dream Big

Leave a Reply

