The stigma of rest days

I’ve eluded in this blog before in moments of frustration and fatigue that I’m not good at handling moments when I don’t feel great.  It actually frustrates me to no end when I don’t feel 100% because the majority of the time I have things I want to do, and I just don’t feel up to doing them.

Sometimes when we are tired and feeling blah, we have to somehow find the inner strength to push ourselves to do things.  And sometimes we have to let ourselves have a break.  And knowing that balance is very difficult, and personal.

For me, I always feel a bit guilty when I “let” myself rest instead of pushing myself to do more.  And this is something I really need to get over.  Because there is no shame in resting.

Today I had big plans.  But I woke up exhausted and never really felt better throughout the day.  So after work, I came home, had lunch, threw a load of laundry in the washer, and sat down on the couch.  I haven’t moved much either.  Right now I’m typing this while sitting on the couch, feeling exhausted and a little bummed at the same time.

Why do we make ourselves feel bad for resting?

I don’t really have an answer to that.  My guess is we see others out and about on social media, accomplishing goals and being productive, while we are not.  And we feel bad about ourselves in comparison.

I did a google image search looking for quotes about how “It’s OK not to do everything.”  And all that came up was quotes about how you should do little things to add up to big things.  And while, yes, this is true and motivational, it’s not what I was looking for.  I was looking for things that allow you to take a break.  For things that say, it’s OK that you are tired.  Go rest.  Everything will be fine if you do.  So, I made my own.  It’s not as eloquent as many of the quotes out there that try to motivate you to do.  But it’s simple, and it’s true, and everyone needs to know it’s ok to take breaks every now and then.

You don't have to do everything.You do

So for anyone out there who feels like me today, here’s your motivational saying.  It’s OK to rest.  It’s OK!

 

One response to “The stigma of rest days

Leave a Reply

