Banana and Avocado Muffins

Last week I watched an episode of The Chew, one of my favorite TV shows, and watched Michael Symon make a ridiculously yummy sounding and looking banana peanut butter chocolate bread.  Ever since then, I’ve been craving banana bread.

Since I had a couple of ripe bananas in my fridge, I figured now was the time to make banana bread.  But I wanted to make a healthier version – because let’s face it – lots of sugar, butter, peanut butter and chocolate does not a healthy snack make.  And I looked and saw I had a ripe avocado sitting in my fridge as well.  Since the blueberry avocado muffins I made were tasty (and now completely eaten), I decided to embark on an avocado banana bread adventure.

I searched the web and used this recipe as my inspiration, and opted to make muffins instead of the loaf.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 medium avocado
  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 2 eggs
  • 4 ounces of unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 teaspoon vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375.
  2. Remove the peel and pit from the avocado and place in a stand mixer fitted with the paddle, and mix until smooth (or use a hand mixer).
  3. Add in 1/2 cup sugar and mix until well blended.
  4. Add in 1 banana, 1 egg, 2 ounces of applesauce, 1/2 teaspoon of vinegar, 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda and 1 cup all-purpose flour and mix.  Then add in the other banana, egg, the rest of the applesauce, vinegar, baking soda and flour and mix.  Be careful not to overmix.
  5. Scoop into muffin tins and bake at 375 for 20-25 minutes.
  6. Let cool in muffin tins.

banana avocado muffin

These muffins are very moist and taste like a lovely banana bread.  They definitely have cured my craving.  They are even lovelier with a dab of peanut butter on top.

 

Leave a Reply

