Best of the Week

The best of the week is a little different today.

That’s because I had a pretty stressful week.  I was feeling overwhelmed with too many responsibilities and to-do’s and not enough time to relax and unwind.  I desperately needed some down time, but I felt like I was living from hour to hour, task to task.  It was not a happy time for me.

I usually have the mentality to tough out the rough times and then things will get better.  And I was trying to tough things out for a while, but it seemed like the more “tough” I was getting, the more stress I was adding in my life.

And when I’m stress, I tend to forget to take care of myself, because I’m so busy trying to take care of everything else on my plate.  My fitness routine lessens, my nutrition goes down the tubes, my sleeping pattern gets out all of whack and I rarely find time to enjoy myself.

So this week, I decided enough is enough.  I need to fix what’s causing so much stress in my life.

My husband and I sat down and discussed my responsibilities, and figured out which one’s are not serving me right now.  I am focusing on what I enjoy, which is my job, my health and my family, and taking out or limiting things that don’t add much joy.

priorities

Once we made that decision it was like a weight was lifted off my shoulders.  I didn’t feel like I needed to do it all, and be perfect for everyone all the time.  The pressure was gone, the stress was gone, and I could focus on being happy and productive without being overwhelmed.

Here are a few of the things I have done this past week to try to get my health and lifestyle back on the right track.

  1. To fix my crazy sleeping patterns, I have started setting an alarm every morning to make sure I wake up at a consistent time.  This helps me get sleepy at a consistent time, and I sleep much better!  My alarm was set at 6:30am for every day, except for Saturday, when I had to wake up earlier to get to work, and Sunday, where I slept in for a bit (but not too much!).  I will continue this pattern this coming week to help make sure I am well rested.
  2. I am cutting back on caffeine.  This was inspired by my husband who is trying to limit his soda intake, more for the sugar than the caffeine.  But when I’m stressed and tired, I tend to hit the caffeine pretty hard myself and my intake was through the roof!  I have been surprised at how easy it has been to limit myself to 2 cups a day – one in the morning and one in the late afternoon.  I will continue this for the upcoming week as well, and perhaps lessen the following week.

For this week, I’m going to add in some yoga practice.  This has really helped me stay calm and centered, and I’ve been so busy I haven’t practice in a very long time.  So taking time for yoga is my change to help get me back on the right path for this coming week!

And finally, it wouldn’t be a Best of the Week without mentioning that my beloved Tar Heels have moved on to the Sweet 16.  I didn’t think they were going to make it to the 32 with their first struggle against Harvard, but somehow they did.  And I was very impressed with their performance against a very tough Arkansas team.  Sweet 16 – Go HEELS!

unc

Leave a Reply

