Veggie Tostadas

My husband is a meat-eater.  He loves all sorts of meat!  I am a meat-eater but I also try to make sure one dinner per week is meatless.  I do this for 2 reasons: 1) it gets us both an extra dose of veggies, and 2) meat is expensive! And while he never complains about our veggie-meals, I can tell he’s a little worried he’ll miss the meat.

But I think his worries are lessening now because I’m finding the trick to making meat-eaters love meatless meals!  It’s pretty simple: flavor!  You need to add lots of yummy flavor to your veggie-based meals in order for everyone to enjoy them.

An easy way to add flavor is to make your meal Mexican-inspired.  Think about it – have you ever had a Mexican meal that was lacking in taste?  I sure haven’t!

And since it’s pretty easy to make Mexican food healthy and veggie based, I tend to do A LOT of Mexican veggie meals.  This one was fun and tasty!

I used the recipe for Vegetable Quesadillas from 100 Days of Real Food for my inspiration.  I was actually going to make quesadillas but I was using our first attempt at homemade tortillas and they weren’t exactly perfect circles, so I went with tostadas instead.

These tostadas (or quesadillas) are great for using up whatever produce you have on hand and are a quick and easy weeknight meal.

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1-2 cups of vegetables of choice.  I used 1/2 sweet potato, shredded, 1/2 red pepper, diced, 1 zucchini, diced, 1 carrot, shredded
  • 3/4 tsp of chili powder
  • juice of a small lime
  • 1/2 – 1 cup of grated Monterey Jack cheese
  • 2-3 whole wheat tortillas
Look at all those yummy veggies!

Look at all those yummy veggies!

Instructions

  1. Heat olive oil in a skillet over medium heat
  2. Add in veggies and cook until soft, about 4-5 minutes.
  3. Add chili powder, lime, salt to taste and 1/4 cup of cheese to skillet and mix together.
  4. Spray skillet with cooking spray and add 1 tortilla.  Sprinkle tortilla with cheese and top with veggies, and another sprinkling of cheese.
  5. Cook until tortilla is browned on the bottom and cheese is melted, about 3-4 minutes.
  6. Repeat until all tostados are made.
See what I'm saying about the tortilla - not pretty, but tasty!

See what I’m saying about the tortilla – not pretty, but tasty!

It’s that simple!  And it’s a great way to hide veggies!  My husband hates sweet potatoes but he ate the tostados happily.

Enjoy!

 

One response to “Veggie Tostadas

  1. I eat loads of veggie food and agree that if it’s spicy and tasty then you don’t miss the meat at all. I love sweet potatoes and will definitely be trying this. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

