Cinnamon Raisin Almond Treats

When I hear the word cinnamon, I’m pretty much on board.  And it’s not just the yumminess of cinnamon buns, snicker doodles or cinnamon raisin bagels that gets me.  Cinnamon oatmeal, cinnamon Puffins, cinnamon apples.  I think it’s safe to say cinnamon is one of my favorite flavors.

So when I saw this recipe from Fannetastic Anne for cinnamon raisin almond treats, I knew it would be a winner from the first word.

What I love about these treats is that they use raisins instead of dates as the base.  I enjoy dates, but they can be too sweet and overpowering.  Raisins add just the right amount of sweetness (and stickiness) to this recipe without creating that overly sweet flavor.

Plus, it’s super-simple!

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup natural almonds
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp water
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Instructions

  1. Add all ingredients into a food processor and blend until it all sticks together.  (If you find the ingredients are not sticking together after a good bit of processing, try adding a bit more water.)snack1
  2. Form the ingredients into balls or bar shapes.  I made mine into 10 balls.
  3. Wrap in cellophane and enjoy as a post-workout snack, a quick breakfast, a snack or a nighttime treat.

snack

These are delicious, nutritious and incredibly easy!

One response to “Cinnamon Raisin Almond Treats

Leave a Reply

