My Favorite Healthy Snacks

My snacking is very cyclical.  I go through phases of foods that I love to eat and I’ll eat them almost every day.  Then I get sick of it and switch to another food and eat it almost every day.  Then I get sick of it and go back to my former favorite food.  I guess you can say I’m a bit consistent in my inconsistency.

Here are a few of the healthy snack options I am loving right now:

Trader Joe’s Honey Graham Crackers

photo 1

I can eat a box a week (or probably less than that!)  I hated graham crackers as a kid, but as an adult, I can’t get enough of them.

I like to make my own graham crackers (that are really more like graham cookies – softer texture) but time has not allowed that recently.  So I’ve taken to Trader Joe’s brand.  And I love them!

Peanut Butter

photo 2

This picture is of Trader Joe’s creamy salted Peanut Butter, which is currently in my fridge.  But really, I love all peanut butter.  I always by natural – just ground peanuts.  Sometimes I buy the salted version, and sometimes unsalted.  And I’m not brand loyal – whatever store I’m at, I’ll buy their natural version.  All peanut butter is good to me!

Now what do I do with my peanut butter?  Here are a few of my favorite ways to eat it now:

  • Spread on a wheat cracker (or graham cracker) topped with a few slices of banana – the salty and sweet, crunchy and creamy – such a great combination!
  • Swirled into low-fat vanilla Greek Yogurt.  Most of the time I will cut up a banana and throw that in there too.
  • On a wheat or corn tortilla
  • Or just on a spoon!

“Granola” Bars

photo 3

In the world of the granola/protein bars, there’s good and there’s bad.  There are bars out there that are no better for you than a candy bar.  And I stay away from those.  My choices are Clif Bars and Luna Bars.  Right now I’m in love with Clif Blueberry Bars for an easy breakfast and Luna Lemon Zest bars for a sweet treat.

I also do occasionally make my own “granola” bars – check out my Facebook page today for the cinnamon raisin almond bar recipe I made this week that was delicious!

So those are the three snacks in my rotation right now.  What are your favorite healthy snacks?

 

6 responses to “My Favorite Healthy Snacks

Leave a Reply

