Spaghetti Squash and Meatballs

Spaghetti and Meatballs is one of the ultimate comfort foods for me.  It was a childhood favorite and I still have cravings for it today.  And on occasion, I’ll treat myself with a delicious bowl of noodles, marinara sauce and meatballs.  But more often, I opt for a healthier version of the dish, using brown rice or whole wheat noodles, lots of veggies and lean ground meat to make the meatballs.

The other night I tried a version using spaghetti squash, and it was easy, healthy and satisfied my craving perfectly.

First step was making the meatballs.

I used lean 1/2 pound ground turkey, 1 large carrot finely grated, 1 egg, 1 clove of garlic, 1 teaspoon of Italian seasoning, 1/4 teaspoon of dried basil and a dash of red pepper flakes.

Mix the ingredients together in a bowl and form into equal size meatballs about 1 inch in diameter.

turkey meatballs

Bake at 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes.

While the meatballs are baking, cook the spaghetti squash.  I used the microwave version.  For instructions on how to do that, see this post.

You can make your own marinara sauce, but that can be time-consuming.  So I opted for one of my favorite jarred spaghetti sauces and heated it up in the microwave.

I served it with a side of asparagus that I roasted in the oven for 10 minutes.

spaghetti and meatballs

 

 

2 responses to “Spaghetti Squash and Meatballs

    • I add carrot (and sometimes zucchini) to things like meatballs and meatloaf all the time. It adds some moisture and a lot of nutrition, and it doesn’t really effect the taste.

      Like

Leave a Reply

