Tips and tricks for reaching your goals

small stepsDo you listen to podcasts?

Lately I’ve been on a big podcast kick.  I listen to podcasts while exercising, cleaning the house and sometimes even when I’m driving.

And I have become addicted to The Chalene Show.  Chalene Johnson is a master personal trainer, a motivational speaker and a life coach.  She has relatable and inspiring podcasts that can be used for fitness, careers, or just every day life and happiness.

Yesterday I listened to her interview with Michael Hyatt, national bestselling offer and former CEO of Thomas Nelson Publishers.  They were talking about goal setting and gave a lot of helpful tips and tricks for not only setting goals, but on how to keep working towards your goals.

There was a particularly poignant moment for me when they talked about changing or “giving up” on goals.

We’ve all set goals for ourselves that never panned out.  And sometimes it was because the goal just didn’t fit us as a person.  For instance, I’d love to know another language.  But I’m not very good at picking up other languages and the work involved in it just doesn’t appeal to me.  So when I set out to learn a new language, I always end up giving up.

And while most of the time I view this as a mini-failure, it really isn’t.  It’s just me re-evaluating my goals and saying this goal just doesn’t work for me.  It’s not right for my life and who I am.  And that’s ok!  I can focus on goals that are better for me and will take me in the direction I want my life to go.

They also discussed the scariness of goal setting.  It can be daunting, especially if it’s a big, somewhat life changing goals.  Becoming healthier, losing weight, training for a sporting event, quitting smoking, changing careers, writing a novel.  These are all very big goals!  And yes, they are scary!  But that shouldn’t keep you from working to accomplish them if that’s truly what you want to do.

goals

The first step is always the hardest.  Tips they gave to get going is reading a book on the subject at hand, googling the topic, writing an email to someone who knows about the journey for advice.  They don’t have to be big overhauls.  You don’t have to write the first chapter of the All American novel or start training for a marathon on day 1.  Education is always the best place to start.  So learning about how to achieve your goal will make it less overwhelming and more doable.

small steps

I encourage you to listen to this podcast.  You can find it here.

This is the perfect time to start thinking about goals, as the New Year approaches and we are all in a goal setting mindset.

What are your goals for 2015?

Leave a Reply

