Spaghetti Squash Saute

I bought another spaghetti squash!  This is quickly becoming one of my favorite things to cook!

The other night I decided to try a different recipe and method for cooking spaghetti squash.  I used this recipe from Cookin’ Canuck as my base for the recipe.

First, cook the spaghetti squash.  This recipe used the microwave cooking method, which I had not tried before so I gave it a go.  After poking many holes in the spaghetti squash, I placed in on a microwave safe plate put in the microwave on High for 15 minutes.

swiss chard2

And it worked!  There was a bit of liquid that slowly bubbled out of the holes (so definitely use a plate to avoid a mess!).  I kept checking on it to make sure it didn’t explode (I didn’t want a Pinterest Fail!) and thankfully it did not.

After cooking, I let the spaghetti squash sit and cool for 10 minutes – it was very hot!

While the squash was cooling, I chopped up some Swiss Chard and my addition to the recipe, some turkey sausage.

swiss chard3

I used Cranberry Apple Turkey Sausage from Trader Joe’s.

swiss chard4

In a pan over medium heat, I added about a tablespoon of olive oil and added the sausage to brown it (about 5 minutes).

When the sausage was starting to brown, I added in the Swiss Chard and let it cook down for about 3 minutes.

swiss chard

To make the dressing for the salad, add 1.5 teaspoons of Dijon mustard to a small bowl and slowly drizzle in 1/4 cup of olive oil while whisking away.  Then add 1.5 teaspoons of white wine vinegar, salt and pepper (to taste).

swiss chard5

When the spaghetti squash has cooled, carefully cut open the squash and scoop out the seeds.

Then using a fork, scrape out the noodles.

spaghetti squash fork

Combine the spaghetti squash noodles, turkey sausage, Swiss Chard, 1/3 cup of dried cranberries and dressing in a bowl and toss.

I served it with a roll on the side.  It was delicious and there is maybe a snack worth of leftovers in the fridge for me to enjoy today!

swiss chard1

 

One response to “Spaghetti Squash Saute

Leave a Reply

