Best of the Week

I don’t know about you, but the time change really threw me for a loop this week!  I’m glad I survived my sleepiness (and sometimes crankiness) without any harm!

Here’s what I loved about this week:

Halloween

Halloween was a good time!  I had to work until a little after 7, so I missed some of the neighborhood action but we did make time to go walk around some fun neighborhoods and see all the kids in costume and crazy decorations!  It felt like Halloween in a happy movie (not one of the scary ones!) where kids are laughing and the leaves are being blown in a gentle breeze.  Very picturesque!

Around 10pm it did get a little more like a scary movie-like though! We had a pretty loud and bright thunderstorm roll through.  Couple that with the fact that my husband was switching the channel between Hannibal and Silence of the Lambs, and it got pretty spooky!

But we had fun, ate some Scary Halloween Cookies I made, and enjoyed our evening.

halloween cookies

Clean Eating Challenge

After the cookies and all the leftover Halloween candy, I was in desperate need of a healthy eating recharge.  So I was excited to start the 3 day clean eating challenge on Monday.  This was my first time attempting the 6 small meals a day program and was curious to see how it worked.

Well, for me, it didn’t work that great as I couldn’t eat all the food listed.  But I did eat clean (mostly – I had a few weak moments) and got my diet back on track.  Which really was the point of the whole challenge, so I’m happy with my results.  Next time, I may opt for 5 meals instead of 6, and yes, there will be a next time – so stay tuned!

For updates on all my upcoming programs and challenges, like my Facebook page.

Impromptu Date Nights

My husband and I plan a date night at least once a month.  Usually it’s something silly that we can do at home, like create a scavenger hunt for each other or watch crazy YouTube videos.

This past Wednesday we had an impromptu date night.  It started because of my lack of inspiration for dinner.  I just couldn’t think of anything I wanted to eat, so I suggested we go to our local Whole Foods Market and grab dinner on their hot bar.  I’m glad I suggested it because dinner was delicious!

Then my husband had the idea to walk around the nearby mall and look at Christmas decorations.  I’m a little bit against so much Christmas celebration before Thanksgiving (and totally against it before Halloween!) because I like to enjoy each holiday as it comes.  But it turned out to be a great idea!

The mall wasn’t too decorated, but they did have their big Santa Claus area set up.  We went into some fancy home stores and checked out their Thanksgiving and Christmas decorations as well.  We didn’t buy anything, it was just something to do for fun and get us in the holiday spirit!  And it definitely did – I had a great time and it was a super relaxing evening!  And now I’m ready for the holidays!

 

Leave a Reply

