A Quick Healthy Dinner

Yesterday was one of those days that I woke up tired.  I slept well, so I’m not sure why.  But it happens from time to time.  You go through the day in a bit of a haze, maybe making silly mistakes throughout the day.  Going into a room in your home for a specific purpose but you instantly forget it once you reach your destination.  Hoping on the computer to look up some important information, and poof, it’s gone!  I was even in a light sleep before my yoga class began yesterday afternoon.  Almost falling asleep in savasana is fairly normal, but not before the class.

So needless to say, making a complicated or time-consuming dinner was not a good idea for me last night.  So I went to one of our favorite, easy to make healthy meals.

This meal is all about the seasoning.  I try to keep this mixture on hand.

  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • 2 tsp mustard powder
  • 1/4 tsp dried thyme
  • 1 tsp sea salt
    (adapted from the 21 Day Fix program)

I take thin cut chicken breasts and dredge them in this seasoning.  Don’t be afraid to coat the entire piece of meat.  Chicken breasts are their own are pretty blah – but this seasoning gives them great flavor!

chicken din

Then I brown the chicken over medium high heat.  This takes 3-4 minutes per side.

chicken easy

Finally, I put in a preheated 350 degree oven and let them finish cooking.  Depending on the thickness of the chicken breast, it can take anywhere from 10-15 minutes. (If you are using regular chicken breasts, it will probably be 20-30 minutes.)

chicken with veg

While the chicken is in the oven, I cook up some vegetables.  Whatever vegetables you like is fine, but my go to is zucchini and squash, chopped into discs.

In the same pan you cooked the chicken, brown the veggies on both side.  You can add the all purpose seasoning to the veggies, another favorite spice mix, or just a little salt and pepper.  Last night I used my leftover all-purpose seasoning mix on the chicken, so I used a little bit of Italian Seasoning Mix on the veggies.

Don’t be afraid to get a little color on your vegetables.  Those bits of brown are full of good flavor!

chicken dinner

And that’s it!  Easy, quick, delicious and nutritious!

I served my chicken with lots of veggies and my husband got a side of brown rice with his chicken and veggies.

chicken

And after a quick dinner, it was a nice, relaxing evening with no thought required!


Join me on Monday November 3rd for a FREE post Halloween “Detox”

  • Free 3 Day Clean Eating Plan!
  • Free Coaching and Accountability from Me!
  • If you want to try delicious nutrition shakes, you can do so for just $15!

Contact me for more details!

Leave a Reply

