Spaghetti Squash Casserole

My husband and I went to the Farmers Market on Saturday.  We are lucky to have a Farmers Market within walking distance of our house – and I love going there!  I’m ready for Fall produce!

I did pick up a few apples and pears, but I also got a nice spaghetti squash.  I was introduced to spaghetti squash about a year ago just by chance.  I ordered it at a chain restaurant (I think maybe it was an O’Charley’s or Applebees?) while traveling because it seemed like the healthiest thing on the menu.  It was prepared with a basic marinara and a little parmesan cheese.  I was pleasantly surprised that it was very tasty and filling!  I didn’t miss the noodles at all!

Since then I have baked a couple of spaghetti squashes for myself for lunch.  I just used the squash as noodles for a basic pasta recipe – sautéed with olive oil, parmesan and herbs, or topped with marinara.

But with this spaghetti squash, since my husband (who is not a huge squash fan) was game, I decided to make a little twist with spaghetti squash.  I was inspired by this recipe from Family Fresh Cooking.

First, I cooked the spaghetti squash.  I’m not into microwaving my fresh produce, so I baked it in the oven.  I hate cutting spaghetti squashes in half prior to cooking (even though they cook twice as fast), so I just poked several holes in it and baked it at 375 for an hour.

spaghetti squash whole

After some cooling time, I cut it in half, scooped out the seeds, and used a fork to create the spaghetti.

spaghetti squash seeds

spaghetti squash fork

Next, toss the spaghetti squash with olive oil, garlic powder, salt, pepper, paprika, parmesan cheese and diced Al Fresco Sun Dried Tomato chicken sausages.

spaghetti squash 1

I put the mixture into my cut little ramekins that I never get to use, but this week I’ve used twice!  (I get so excited when I get to use my cute cookware!)  Cracked an egg on top of the mixture, and then baked at 375 for 20 minutes.

spaghetti squash no egg mix

The results:  Delicious!  We both ate every last bit of the spaghetti squash casserole.  While my egg got a little too cooked on the edges (I have a problem with timing baked eggs!), most of the yolk was still runny and yummy!  This is a great recipe that is a bit time-consuming, but the process itself isn’t difficult.  I will be making this again.

spaghetti squash finish

5 responses to “Spaghetti Squash Casserole

      • Hahaha I each that sounds like my husband you know he likes it if he gobbles it up lol he will eat really anything but of doesn’t go back for more then it was just OK. But if he licks his plate clean and asks for more you know its a winner

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

