Best of the Week

Can you believe today is the last Friday in September?  This month flew by!!  Here’s what I loved this first week of Fall:

A Family Get Together

My niece turned 10 last week.  It’s hard to believe – even as I typed this I accidentally wrote six first and had to correct it.  She’s growing up so fast!

My brother and sister-in-law hosted a lovely family gathering for her birthday celebration over the weekend.  It was full of laughter, adorable doggies and corn hole.  I even got to see an old friend who lives a few blocks away from their house.  It was a happy day spent with special people!

Girls on the Run

This was my first week as an assistant coach for Girls on the Run.  If you are not familiar with this great program, check out their website at http://www.girlsontherun.org.  Their mission is to “inspire girls to be joyful, healthy and confident using a fun, experience-based curriculum which creatively integrates running.”

We have a great group of happy and energetic 3rd through 5th great girls who you can’t help but laugh and smile with!  It’s going to be a fun and adventurous season with them!

A Comfort Food Meal

This meal was a lighter version of baked chicken and mashed potatoes, and man was it a hit!  I used this recipe from Cooking Light magazine.  I did lower the amount of butter and oil used, because it wouldn’t be me cooking if I didn’t lower it.  I used about 1 tablespoon of canola oil and 1/2 tbsp. of unsalted butter to cook the chicken breasts.

For the mashed potatoes, I used Trader Joe’s frozen mashed potatoes and just a splash (1.5 tablespoons) of skim milk – they were smooth and creamy and didn’t need any cheese or butter added to them!

The best part was the gravy though!  It was simple and tasty!  I don’t know if my husband and I just don’t eat a lot of gravy or if this recipe was just particularly tasty, but we couldn’t get enough of the gravy!

I served it with a side of roasted asparagus.  Yummy!

Fall’s Arrival

I love Fall!  I love the crisp cool air, the beautiful changing leaves, and the fun Fall activities!  Football, carnivals, pumpkins, apples – all things I love!  The only downside of Fall is that the next season is Winter.  But regardless, I always welcome Fall with open arms!

fall leaves

Leave a Reply

