Best of the Week

Another Friday!  Here’s what I loved about this week:

Brunch with the Girls

Sometimes you just need to be with your girls!  This past weekend I had a lovely brunch at a local restaurant, 300 East, with a great group of ladies.  It was just the estrogen-filled morning that I needed, even though we mainly chatted about training for running races! 🙂

New Exercise Classes

Every now and then I get a little bored with my exercise routine and need to shake things up.  This week was definitely a major shake up!  I tried 2 new classes at my local gym: Barre Collective and Cycle.

Barre Collective was a combination of Barre and Pilates.  Barre exercises are ballet themed, where you use a ballet bar and ballet positions (think toes out) and do a ton of leg lifts to work those tiny muscles in your hips and glutes.  And man do you feel the burn!  The Pilates based portion was a lot of planks and V-sits for core, and she did throw in some light weight shoulder and bicep work.  It was a great, low impact and full body workout.  I’m definitely trying this class again!

Cycle is the traditional spinning class.  And yes, this is my first time taking a cycle class even though they’ve been popular for years.  And man was it tough!  I kept my RPMs and gears lower than the instructor said, but still pushed myself.  My quads were burning by the end of the class, but I felt great!  I need to keep this in my rotation as well.

Brussel Sprout and Chicken Stir Fry

I took inspiration from this recipe for dinner the other night, but put my own personal spin on it due to taste preferences and convenience.

Ingredients:
Brussel Sprouts
Cooked Chicken
Parmesan Cheese
A good Balsamic Vinaigrette (I used Annie’s brand)

Chop the Brussel sprouts into small pieces and put in a pan over medium-high heat.
Add cooked chicken to the pan and cook until Brussel sprouts have soften a bit, about 4-5 minutes.
Add 2 tablespoons of the balsamic vinaigrette to the pan and saute for another 1-2 minutes.
Sprinkle with 2 tablespoons of Parmesan cheese and serve.

Quick, healthy and tasty!

brussel sprout stir fry

A Healthy Dog!

Since June, my dog has had a lot of health issues.  It started with a severe back and hip strain that took about 3 months to heal with a lot of pain medications and doggie PT to help.  During this, she also developed a urinary tract infection that took 2 rounds of antibiotics to clear up.  But this week we found out she is completely healed from her injuries and the infection has finally cleared up.  We are celebrating our healthy 13-year old dog now!

IMG_1412

 

Leave a Reply

