Best of the Week

Happy Friday!  I hope you had a great week experimenting with tasty vegetables!  Here’s what I loved this week:

An easy lunch

One of my favorite go-to items at the grocery store is a bag of broccoli slaw.  I use this as a side and as a salad base.  This week I used it as a salad base for an easy and satisfying lunch.  Topped with leftover chicken, raisins and Greek yogurt dressing, I had a nutritious lunch ready in less than 5 minutes!

broccoli slaw lunch

Book Club

I love my book club!  We meet every 6 weeks or so, and the books are incredibly varied.  We’ve read classics, like “Lookaway, Lookaway” by Wilton Barnhardt, nonfiction like “The Lone Survivor” by Marcus Luttrell and this meeting our book was a lighthearted read “Bridge Jones Mad About the Boy” by Helen Fielding.  I love reading the books, but I really enjoy the company.  This book led to some interesting conversations from a group of early 30 something’s, let me tell you!  It was a great time!

PiYo

I ordered a series of PiYo videos last week and this Monday I started with DVD number 1.  I’ve been through 4 of them so far this week, and I have to say I have really been enjoying them.  The moves are somewhat new to me.  While I’ve done triceps push-ups, planks and Warrior poses before, the sequencing and introduction of new moves (like the Beast) is really fun and challenging!  There are several more workouts I haven’t tried yet in the series, but I think I’m really going to enjoy PiYo, and the results!  Come on hips – open up!!!

Spaghetti Squash

I bought a spaghetti squash from my local farmer’s market and Wednesday I set out to cook it.  I have cooked spaghetti squash once before and had a hard time of it.  I cut it in half, then cooked it.  And let me tell you, cutting a spaghetti squash in half raw was very difficult and dangerous!  I’m lucky I didn’t cut myself!  So this time I decided to give the cook then cut technique a try.  I was a little nervous as I’ve seen all the Pinterest fail posts about a spaghetti squash exploding in the microwave or oven when people tried to cook them whole.  So I made sure to poke plenty of holes (and went deep so a little juice poured out) and checked on it every 10 minutes.  And yay, no explosions.  This method does work!  It did take a long time to cook, but cutting it afterwards was so much easier that I think I will use this method for the future.  I cooked some for lunch yesterday – just sautéed a bit in olive oil, Italian seasoning and Parmesan.  I’m still thinking about how I will prepare it today!  So many options!

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter, Facebook and Pinterest for more up to date information on workout routines, recipes, and other things I’m loving!

2 responses to “Best of the Week

Leave a Reply

