Workout Backup Plans

Last week I had 2 out of 7 workouts not go according to plan.

I went one of my favorite group exercise classes – Cardio Strength – and the instructor got stuck in traffic and showed up 40 minutes late to class.

Then I woke up on Friday ready for a run, and it was pouring rain!

I spend time on Sunday laying out my workout plans and meals for the week, and these two events really put a damper on my plans!

It’s easy to give up, go home, sit on the couch, and not do anything when your well made plans are messed up.  But when it comes to exercise, it’s always good to have another idea in the back of your head, because life is full of things that can change our fitness routines.

I was proud to be part of my cardio strength class on Friday.  Out of a full class, only a couple of people put up their weights and left.  The rest of us exercised on our own or with friends, waiting for the instructor to show up.  I made up my own cardio strength routine based on past experiences from the class, full of squats, lunges, bicep curls, triceps dips, jumping rope and jumping jacks.

When the instructor finally arrived, she had a quick 20 minute routine for us to do that really got the job done.  Check it out on my Facebook page!

For my run, I did a cardio DVD at home instead.  And trust me, I was just as sweaty and tired after the DVD as I would have been on the run.

Having a backup plan can be as easy as a DVD, YouTube video, or even an App on your phone that you can do anywhere (even at home!) at anytime.  I love the 21 Day Fix DVDs, Fitness Blender and Jessica Smith YouTube workouts, and the Nike Training Center app.

You can also make up your own workout.  Choose 5 exercises that you are familiar with (squats, lunges, push ups, jumping jacks, running in place, etc.), choose a number of reps to do that will make you work, but that you can do with good form (usually 10 to 20), set a timer and go through the routine as many times as possible during the time.  You may only have 10 minutes, but 10 minutes can get you two sets of a really good routine.

You can always get a workout in, even if your plans are derailed due to weather, work, family, oversleeping or any other unexpected twist in your day!

What are some of your favorite exercise DVDs, apps or YouTube videos?

How did you do on Day 1 of the water challenge?  Remember your water bottle today!

Leave a Reply

